Official Lollapalooza 2009 Lineup

Rumors were enough to secure tickets, but now the 2009 Lollapalooza lineup is official. There are few surprises with the headliners, as Depeche Mode, The Killers, Jane’s Addiction, Beastie Boys, Kings of Leon and Tool are all included.

But some of the unconfirmed rumors held true with Band of Horses, Animal Collective, Ben Harper, Vampire Weekend, Bon Iver, TV on the Radio, Andrew Bird and The Decemberists all set to play.

Some other bands to get excited about include Thievery Corporation, Snoop, Silversun Pickups, Arctic Monkeys, Ra Ra Riot, Dan Auerbach and Sam Roberts Band.

This is as strong a starting lineup as I’ve seen in recent years at Lollapalooza, but not because of the headliners. It’s the smaller bands that will set this year’s Lolla apart from the others. It’s a great mix of established indie rock, along with some up-and-comers. If you don’t know many of the bands mentioned above, it’s an excellent opportunity to get exposed to some new talent. The good news is that they’re not done. Expect more bands, and possibly another strong headliner to announce their appearance in the coming weeks and months.

I predict that, at the end, a lot of buzz will be circulating about how bands like Band of Horses, Silversun Pickups, Dan Auerbach and The Decemberists stole the festival from the likes of Depeche Mode, Tool and The Killers. That said, don’t underestimate Jane’s Addiciton.

The full lineup can be found here.

One Reply to “Official Lollapalooza 2009 Lineup”

Comments are closed.